Me Before You Book Review

I saw the trailer of You Before Me on YouTube and watched it because Sam Claflin and Emilia Clarke are playing the main roles. So the trailer was heartbreakingly good well they used an Ed Sheeran track so it added more feels and also Imagine Dragons wrote a song for the movie. I got curious of the whole story of the movie so I searched it on the internet and read the sypnosis. I kinda like the story so I gave it a shot, I downloaded a copy and started reading it.

I finished almost half of the book on the first day I started it, I didn’t notice it so I decided to stop and continue it the next day. I don’t what to rush it because a. I’m currently enjoying it b. I don’t want to reach the ending yet cause I know it will break me. I’m starting to like the characters and the story, Louisa Clark’s personality is so interesting and funny. A lot of us can relate to her, the way she thinks about her life, her choices. Will Traynor was living and enjoying his life and suddenly everything changed because of an accident, you cant blame him for what he become, for being an arse at first and the choices he made. Louisa’s boyfriend Patrick is annoying, Hes not a good boyfriend to her and I just don’t like him.The book has different POVs aside from Louisa, there are POVs of Will’s and Louisa’s family and his boyfriend. Will doesn’t have his own POV on the book.

I finished the book the next day, I don’t know what to feel about it. Louisa and Will’s relationship is so adorable and cute and you just want it to continue but it obviously cant. The last few chapters are heartbreaking, The things Louisa planned for Will and every time she tears up is heartbreaking. The chapter where Louisa admitted her feelings and what she really wants for them broke my heart. Louisa explained her self well but Will’s answer are also on point. Well, you cant really blame Will for not changing his mind. You cant say he’s being selfish, hes not just doing it for himself but also for the people around him. You cant also blame Louisa for trying to change Will’s mind. He fell inlove with him, he taught him a lot of things she doesn’t know existed within her, she helped her grow into a different person. They both have a good point which makes it so hard and painful.

“All I can say is that you make me… you make me into someone I couldn’t even imagine. You make me happy, even when you’re awful. I would rather be with you – even the you that you seem to think is diminished – than with anyone else in the world.”

Damn this line fucked me up…

After what happened Louisa continued to live her life, he followed Will’s advice to have a life and there are lot of things to know than what she knows.

“I am conscious that knowing me has caused you pain, and grief, and I hope that one day when you are less angry with me and less upset you will see not just that I could only have done the thing that I did, but also that this will help you live a really good life, a better life, than if you hadn’t met me.

Don’t think of me too often. I don’t want to think of you getting all maudlin. Just live well. Just live.”

This novel was truly heart wrenching, there are points that it reminded me of Augustus and Hazel but this one is different. This book made me realize that there a lot more of this life can offer that we ever think of. We need to open our minds with possibilities, things we can do with our lives. We cant let ourselves be in a shell and be comfortable with it. And also that there are choices that we cant control, sometimes we just need to understand and accept it
especially in that situation.

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5 I’ll post a different entry about the trailer and soundtrack of the upcoming adaptation so watch out!

Originally posted May 4 2016 via Tumblr (X)

One comment

  1. Pingback: un(lost)

Leave a Reply

